70° and snowing.

03Mar08

img_0403.jpg

After coming down with a nice little virus last wednesday, I returned to work thursday feeling better and after training and feeling good thursday, I thought I had successfully kicked whatever funk I had. After I woke up went to work Friday, I realized I was very wrong. I went home sick Friday, and slept and relaxed for the next few days.

Having the nicest day of the year so far fall on a weekend when I was sick was a huge bummer. Around 3 pm, I just couldn’t handle looking out the window anymore knowing a sunny 70° day was waiting for me outside. Although I was feeling better than friday, I still felt like crap, so I promised myself I would go super easy and just spin out the legs for an hour — which I did.It was the first ride of the year that required only a jersey and shorts … no vest, no gloves, just warm sun on my legs. It was nearly heaven, but missing the group ride in this weather was hell. At least I was starting to feel better.

While I risked making my cold worse by riding Saturday, when I woke up Sunday to see several inches of fluffy snow and a 35° day outside, I was happy I risked it yesterday. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen such an insane temperature/weather swing in the course of 24 hours.

The view during my walk with the dogs:

img_0402.jpg

I was still not 100%, so I decided to take another day off and make sure I kicked whatever I had. The snowy day was filled with movies, reading and walking the dogs who live in the house I’m watching. It was nice, but it was all I could do to not load up the snowboard and get in a few runs. I don’t know how people can just sit around on the weekend!

One of the dogs playing in the snow:

img_0408.jpg

After a rough few weeks with training, work and a nasty cold, I’m looking forward to being healthy and of course … racing! Until then, I’m going to finish recovering and enjoy the view:

img_0409.jpg

No Responses Yet to “70° and snowing.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

