Oredigger Classic

07Apr08

This past weekend was the Oredigger classic. It’s a two day race in Golden, Colorado. Saturday is the individual time trial up lookout mountain and Sunday is the circuit race.

I felt decent on the lookout climb. My goal was to go under 20 minutes, but I was in the 21 minute range instead. Not so bad considering the slow start I’ve had this year. Though the time wasn’t what I wanted, I had some good sensations and I’m looking forward to the mass start race up lookout mountain in May. I’ll go into it with a good amount of confidence knowing I can hang with the leaders.

Saturday afternoon, My friend Lindsey and I went up to Boulder to go on a light hike and show her around. It was a good time and relaxing post race activity. She was in Denver from Chicago checking things out. She dug it and it looks like she’ll be moving out here in the next few months. It will be good having another good friend out here.

Sunday was the circuit race …. it was hard! A very technical fast course with a long climb that seemed to never end. Unfortunately, half of Colorado’s Pros were up in Boulder racing the Koppenberg that was canceled last weekend, so our field was only 25 or so guys. When there are two race federations, they sometimes work against each other. Pretty crazy to think there were two Pro races happening on the same afternoon less than 15 miles apart.

Since I pre-registered for the Oredigger, I was stuck racing in Golden Sunday. I would have preferred the Koppenberg, but I was still excited to race in Golden.

I had a decent race. Couldn’t make the break and suffered to hold on most of the time, but I finished mid- pack. I’m still looking for my official results. It was a good race for me to hone my suffering skills. My legs felt decent and I think I’m at the beginnings of coming around. It was a hard, hard day though.

Check out the photos Lindsey snapped of the race action:

In the pack:


Riding behind Jobi:

Chasing down Hutchinson:

Chasing Hutchinson down

Deep in the pain cave:

Final laps:

Hanging with Lindsey after the race:

Hiking in Boulder:

No Responses Yet to “Oredigger Classic”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

