Boehle.

28Apr08

I’ve been a little out of pocket lately. As I was about to leave town last wednesday to surprise my mom back in Iowa for her birthday, I learned that one of best friends died when his small plane went down in an Orange grove.

It’s been surreal loosing one of your best friends and being out of town. I was happy I was with family during this very tough time.

I’m now briefly back in Denver, but leave in a few hours for Scottsdale, where 100’s of Nick’s friends will lay him to rest. Most of my friends were all close friends with Nick and we all have a long history. Aside from being friends since we were 18, Nick and I lived together for 2 years in our final years of college.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While Nick was a great pilot himself, his pilot was flying the plane and they were en route to Southern California where Nick was set to expand his very successful businesses.

Read about the crash here

While I am still filled with sadness and pain, I’m comforted knowing Nick died doing what he loved. He also achieved and experienced more in 27 years than most of us will achieve in our whole lives.

I’ve never met anyone that lived life with more vigor, happiness and joy. His drive was unparalleled and he never failed to inspire his friends to chase their dreams and live their life to the fullest. I’ll miss his generous and animated personality that always put a smile on my face.

At 27 Nick was a raging self-made success. He starting several thriving businesses and enjoyed taking to the skies on a regular basis in his beloved planes. In his off time, he traveled the world extensively, surfed Indonesia, Snowboarded the best powder, wakeboarded, raced cars, motorcycles and enjoyed skydiving. Nick could even shred one of his many vintage guitars with the best of em’.

I’ll leave everyone with some links to his Nick Boehle’s online obituary. It’s amazing how many people have left comments.

His Online Guestbook

Here are some pictures of Nick and I that bring a smile to my face.

Keep Nick, Lisa and Brad’s family in friends in your thoughts. They were all bright young people.

Nick – I’ll never forget you brother

I love you, Garrett

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Boehle.”

  1. 1 Navin

    DUDE

    I am sorry to hear about your loss. I am lucky to be 40 and yet to experience a loss such as yours. Looks as if you shared many good times.
    Just earlier today listened to Kim’s radio show and heard your interview, nice job. Kim is really good at that, what is not good at?
    Heh, I know you were really in DSM to be with your family. I should not have tried to get in the way.
    Let your bike be your release.

    Peace

    Christopher Maharry

  2. Chris –

    Thanks for the kind words my man. I really would have liked to see you when I was in town. It’s been far too long!

    Hopefully we can share a ride and some laughs soon.

    Peace and love

    G

  3. 3 Kayleen

    Hi Garrett,

    I just wanted to reach out to you and say I am sorry. My heart is broken as I am sure your is as well. Words can never express what Nick meant to all of us. He would always tell me about your biking and how into it you were. He just recently was getting into mountain biking. There wasnt anything he wouldnt or couldnt do. If you ever need anything or just need to talk please know I am here for you.

    Take Care,

    Kayleen

  4. 4 Kelly Clary (O'Keefe)

    Hey Garrett-

    I didn’t get a chance to make it to Arizona for Nick’s services, but you were one person I wanted to get in touch with. I’m still in such shock at the news, it is so devastating….. I have so many fond memories of all of us at ASU. Hope you are doing well and would love to hear from you.


  1. 1 On the mend. « Ride with Garrett

Leave a Reply

