Colorado Springs Crit and Magnolia.

03May08

The weekend before Nick’s passing, I had the opportunity to race down in Colorado Springs on the Colorado College Campus. Very hard course!

There was a 90 degree hairpin turn, nice downhill followed by a punchy steep hill before the finish. I had a good race, but botched the finish. There were some guys there who will be racing for the US in China for the Olympics, so I was happy to finish and mix it up. I’m pretty sure I was top 20 or so.

Warming up, recognize any jerseys? You’ll see one of them this july in the Tour:

If you look closely, that’s me behind World Cup Track phenom – Taylor Phinney:

The following day, I skipped the road race in the Springs due to a lack of support. On a long road race like that you need some people for water handups and I didn’t have any. Plus, the wind was going to be in sane and I would have had to get a hotel. I opted instead to head up Boulder for some climbing training with Ralph and Kelly. They are both riding strong. We rode up 4 mile canyon, then traversed some super secret dirt roads to the climb up Sugarloaf mountain. Then we bombed down that road and climbed Magnolia. It was insanely steep.

My Bros, Ralph and Kelly. Check out the snowy peaks behind:

While I as no spring chicken, I felt remarkably good after during the ride, particularly considering the tough race I had the day before.

After being off the bike for a week, drinking and mourning one of my best friends death, it’s time to pick myself up and use the momentum I had before his death and carry it through the season.

I’m dedicating this season to my fallen friend.

No Responses Yet to “Colorado Springs Crit and Magnolia.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

