That sucked.

06Aug08

When my knee issues hit the fan in May, I was bummed, but still optimistic I could salvage the season. With just a few weeks left of racing on my calendar, unless something changes, this season will go down as a uneventful. I’m definitely going to do all I can to have a strong close to the year, but with a stomach full of humble pie, I’m having a hard time these days.

This season has been two steps forward and two steps back all year with no measurable progress. 

The State crit a few weeks ago was two steps forward. This past weekend was two steps back. 

After a week of moving and not riding, my knee flared up Friday night. I was in excruciating pain early Saturday morning in bed. I wasn’t able to race Saturday, but luckily Motrin and ice works wonders.

After waking up Sunday with my knee feeling surprisingly good, I decided to race Sunday night. The good news, the knee felt great. The bad news … I didn’t finish. It was an 8 corner crit, strung out single file with speeds around 30 mph. Toyota/United rider Chris Baldwin took the win with Garmin/Chipotle, Vitamin Cottage and THF rounding out the top 5. It was crazy hard, but I’m no less upset I didn’t finish.

With that said, I’m back to my regular rides, stretching, sleeping etc. and looking forward to the remaining races this year!

No Responses Yet to “That sucked.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

