D2 shoe – Visit and fitting, part 1

25Jun09

SUPERCRIT09

Those who I’ve raced and trained with probably know I have some sensitive feet. I have a wide, low volume forefoot and a extremely narrow heel. This makes finding cycling shoes that fit a serious problem. If I can find a shoe with a wide enough forefoot, my heel slips, if my heel doesn’t slip, then my forefoot is pinched and goes numb. On and on we go. Did I mention they are ugly too? If you ever want to see what track spikes and cycling shoes a size too small will do to your feet let me know.

I have tried nearly every shoe on the market and they all give me problems. The kind of problems that make training and racing miserable. The only shoe I can use that is production is the SIDI “mega” shoes. I should note, I can only use them if I have an aftermarket anti-heel slip piece installed in the heel. 

Due to all of these issues, several years ago I took the plunge and bought a pair of Rocket 7’s. They are one of the 2 or 3 custom shoe makers. These shoes solved my problems. They were comfy, didn’t give me problems and allowed me to train and race at high volume with out perpetuating the foot issues I already had. Unfortunately, these shoes are garbage. They do not hold up. Plain and simple.

So, the hunt was on for some new shoes. I almost went with the new BONT cycling shoes. I speed skated a little when I was young, so I was familiar with BONT and their quality. After speaking to the nice folks at the The Skate shop, I almost ordered a pair. They are made in Australia and I see more and more in the pro peloton. I wanted an American made shoe if possible though and the ability to be fit by someone in person.

I decided to go with some shoes from D2 shoe made here in Colorado. You can see these shoes on the likes of half the slipstream team along with numerous other road and mountain pros. The Colorado Pro 1-2 peloton has a bunch of guys on these shoes as well, so I figured I’d keep it local. Plus, I could drive to meet the man that makes them and get fit at the source. 

Custom Carbon Soles:

IMG_0018

Don Lamson is the main guy behind the shoes. He has a rich history in cycling, which I’ll visit in part 2 of this story. Let me just tell you, he knows his stuff. He’s been around some amazing athletes and brings a great deal of passion to every pair of shoes. 

These are just some D2’s custom lasts:

IMG_0017

We started by standing on a glass top and Don traced my feet. Then we moved to a crush box (not pictured) to get the imprint of the bottom of my feet. Sometimes, a 3d foot scan is required, but Don didn’t think this was necessary. After that, he took a few measurements and we were done. Now all that was left was to pick colors and put my order in. The shoes take about 2 weeks to create and Don even has an amazing system for determining proper cleat placement. It’s a system he helped develop. In addition, he will do a laser cleat fitting in his shop in Eagle if you are willing to bring your bike up. I will probably take a half day some afternoon to drive and get my shoes so I can also get the shoes and cleats laser fitted on my bike by Don. 

Don tracing my feet:

IMG_0020

While I waited, I saw the podium shoes Don built for the Garmin team sitting on a table and a folder that read “Michael Barry”. Next to me were a pair of shoes made for Team Type 1 pro Ian McGregor. Don has some big names trusting their feet to his works. 

These are amazing shoes and Don is a great guy. I can’t wait to get my shoes and hope they live up to my expectations. 

Maybe this is the color combo I should get?:

IMG_0021


2 Responses to “D2 shoe – Visit and fitting, part 1”

  1. 1 Jimbob

    Are you getting “Best Fit” or “Custom”? Big difference.

    The white/green/gold/checkered shoes are FUGLY!!! “Hey somebody just puked on your shoes”!

  2. 2 Steve

    I will never buy another brand of road shoe. D2 has eliminated hot spots and I’m pretty sure I put out more power with them.



