Cross “Racing”

19Oct09

Well, after postponing my cyclocross racing for 3 weeks, I finally dove back in … with wait for it …. 4 days of training on the bike since my last race at the beginning of September.  I wanted to take a break after a very long road season, but as the break went on, I realized I needed more of a break than I thought I would. Anyway, it’s over now and I’m back racing.

Let me say, jumping into the Pro (open) field in Colorado after all the big dogs have all ready been racing for a month is a shock to the system to say the least. I got my ass handed to me at the cross race up in Boulder yesterday. It was a really tough. It was bumpier than a lot of mountain bike races I’ve done. Very technical, but it was fun. I had a good start considering I was at the bottom of the call up list and rode well for about a half hour. With 15 minutes to go, I was done. Literally. I think 10 guys passed me on the last few laps. I finished, but almost dead last. I was so cooked afterwards, but it was a cool venue with some big names racing. Jeremy Hogan-Kobelski from Gary Fisher nipped Matt Pacocha for the win.

That’s me, deep in the pain/shame cave:

IMG_9781_72dpi-2

Today was much, much better. It was again a technical, fast and dry course. I figured yesterday would have done one of two things, either kick started my engine, or run it dry. Luckily, it appeared to be the first. Again, I had a relatively good start, moved up and had a good fast race. I had one little crash, but nothing too bad. I was actually racing today and feeling strong. I finished 21st out of some 40 starters in the mens open field. Matt Pacocha won with Daniel Summerhill in second.

I absolutely love cross. It’s hard as hell, but it reminds me a lot of mountain biking. Your result generally represents how well you did and how strong you really are. I like the solo suffering aspect and I get to channel all my old technical skills from my mountain racing days. Super fun.

So, I think I’m going to keep it up. Race until the middle of December, train at low volume with high intensity and then take a break and hit base hard for the road season.

One of these years, maybe in 2010, I want to plan my road season so I can race a full cross schedule and really try and get good at it. I think it could potentially be my next obsession … after I get my Cat 1 road upgrade of course.

No Responses Yet to “Cross “Racing””

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

