Cross season or Off season?

09Nov09

Shortly after it seemed like I was finally getting a cross season on track, work threw me another curve ball. While I’m more than happy to still be employed in this economy, 60 hour work weeks have become the norm the last few weeks. It’s been relentless. No matter what is going on in life and with work, I can usually always squeeze in some rides. Lately, that hasn’t been the case.

Then, just as my momentum with racing and training seemed to be picking up, I took a trip to South Dakota to hunt pheasants with my Dad and a few of his friends. It was a great time, but there was no riding to speak of. The break from work and the ‘world’ was nice though.

Hunting Pheasants in South Dakota:

IMG_3196

Aside from work, I’m also organizing our Pro 1-2 team, so that has been keeping me busy too. Luckily, we have a rock solid roster of 12 Pro 1-2 riders for 2010, so I’m stoked. We had our first ride this past Saturday and it was great to see the new guys jive with the returning riders.

Then after nearly zero training, jumped into a cross race on Sunday. Initially, it went well. I made the break of 5 guys off the front, but then the rough course took it’s toll on my back, which then seized up a little and I just had no snap to keep up. My final result was a little embarrassing, but it was good to get back out there.

Getting some air on the cross course yesterday:

IMG00018-20091108-1557

Still in the lead group …

Ouch … game over.

IMG00021-20091108-1616

One Response to “Cross season or Off season?”

  1. 1 Christopher Maharry

    Dude

    Nice “firearms”

    Sweet Air – thank u for the post – being busy is cool and not so cool all at the same time – I am proud of all that u do

    Peace


Leave a Reply

