Winter bright blues.

12Feb10

What have I been up to? Well, as usual, a lot.

I was involved in a pretty bad car accident two days before Christmas. My girlfriend, my sister and I were inches away from death or serious injury and in the end just ended up in a ditch instead. Still reveling in the appreciation for the outcome we were given.

While I was fully insured, as an experiment, instead of renting a car, I opted to ride my bike. I didn’t ride everywhere, but close. I bummed some rides on the really bad days, but mostly in the dead of winter I was able to get into a groove of commuting to work. I’m not a morning person and there were some struggles, but mostly, it was awesome. I killed two birds with one stone. I got to and from work and my daily base miles. It’s amazing what the world looks like from a bike vs. a car. Everyday I would go over the freeway, instead of longing for a car, I felt a little sorry for those stuck inside one. It was a great experiment and one I intend to keep going. Now that I have my car back a bit of laziness has returned though …

Other than that, just getting things together for the Primal Racing p/b 1st Bank elite team. A few of the guys are down at Valley of the Sun now. It’s a stellar group of guys and I’m stoked for this race season. While I might be a little behind where I should be physically, I’m feeling very healthy and strong.

I’ve been snowboarding A LOT, which I actually think has been helping my offseason training. Whatever I might loose in base miles I think I’m earning in spades mentally. This time of the year, I have to stay fresh. Winter can suck me dry if I let it leaving me spent by Spring. I think this years plan is working much better. Race results will tell, but I’m quietly confident.

There is a lot to be thankful for and excited about.

Cheers.

No Responses Yet to “Winter bright blues.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

