Lots of riding.

03Mar10

While I still long for spring and riding sans leg warmers, I’m thoroughly enjoying winter. I’m taking a little slower approach to entering the season. No Valley of the Sun this year. It was just too much too soon last  year and put me in a bit of a hole in 2009. I’m going to start racing this weekend here in Colorado, but I haven’t been going nuts with the off season in an effort to stay fresh through the summer with a hard racing schedule.

The week usually holds indoor trainer rides and some commuting, while the weekend is filled with one big day of riding at either the group rides in Boulder or Denver on the bike and one big day on the mountain snowboarding. Luckily, half of my teammates have the bug for riding on snow too. Pretty fun to rip it up at Vail and Breck with some fellow Pro 1-2 teammates! Cross training at it’s finest right?

Of course, I work a lot too to support all these fun habits, but there isn’t a whole lot of down time. Just trying to squeeze all the juice out of life … hopefully, I’m succeeding.

In other news, I was diagnosed with a herniated disk in my lower back. I had been having some pain for sometime and finally my Doctors sent me in for an MRI. They think I’ve been racing with a herniated disk for some time (like since ’99). It’s not what I wanted to hear, but now I have a plan of attack to feel stronger and take care of my injury. Lots of core work, PT, massage, acupuncture, diet changes, etc. Not going to lie, it was scary having MRI’s and CT scans, but now that we have a diagnosis, we can move forward.

Thanksful, riding is still in my future!

Check out some pics from the last month, Cheers.

Hammering out some hours in the snow on the bike:

Taking a break after some tree runs with my girl (she rips it!):

… catching one more run before the lifts close:

No Responses Yet to “Lots of riding.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

