Steamboat meltdown.

10Sep10

I was all pumped up for the Steamboat Springs Stage Race. I had the best form of the year, a rested body, a great month of racing leading into the race and a team fired up to win. What could go wrong?

Unfortunately, on the race course it sucked for me. Bad. This isn’t a course that is very forgiving, as a matter of fact, it’s punishing with nowhere to hide. Additionally, we had Pro Tour guys and Domestic powerhouse pros drilling it from the gun everyday. In other words, it was a bad weekend to have bad weekend.

Here is a quick rundown:
1. Soft-pedaled the TT, then realized I had flatted my rear tubular
2. Forgot my inhaler on the first stage, had an asthma attack and got popped immediately. lost 30+minutes, but was still in the race.
3. Got too deep of a massage that cooked my legs that night.
4. Woke up, legs hurt, lungs were full of fluid, blew up on the first climb, realized I was useless to the team and was having zero fun and dropped out.
5. Flatted my front tubular in the parking lot after dropping out.
6. Lamented on the fact that I had just laid a massive egg after having the best preparation for a race maybe ever.
7. Learned some lessons and was thankful that it wasn’t worse.
8. Moved on.

On the upside I had a fun weekend off the bike. Steamboat is beautiful and my girl and I were able to spend some great time together.

Plus, My team(Primal-1st Bank) slayed it!

Primal-1st bank, the team I race for and direct ended the year in 5th on the Colorado Pro 1-2 team standings ahead of some powerhouses like Felt-Holowesko, Vitamin Cottage and Rio Grande, so that’s pretty sweet.

… up next, Cyclocross, mountain biking and eventually … snowboarding!!!!

No Responses Yet to “Steamboat meltdown.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

