Popped.

11Jul11

My first race back after ripping my elbow open at 30 mph was North Boulder Park criterium. Probably the fastest crit and hardest crit in the state. All the big local pros and teams were represented including Rory Sutherland, the Livestrong team, Chipotle, Kelly Benefits, Jamis, Jelly Belly, etc

I thought I was going to make it, but just didn’t have it mentally. In hindsight, I should have waited to come back until my elbow was completely heeled. You can’t race with any level of success unless you are confident. One thing I’ve learned from this past years is that it’s better to wait and come back when you are really ready, than push it and come back too soon.

Amazingly, the moment of me pulling the plug was captured on film.

No Responses Yet to “Popped.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

