Cyclocross is in full swing!

16Oct11

Somehow I still think that it’s August in my head. In actuality, it’s nearly the twighlight of October and I haven’t blogged at all since August! Lots has been going on. I landed a new job that combines my love of design and cycling, which is dream come true. With that, I’ve also been a lot more immersed in cycling and riding more than I have in a long, long time. It really brings a lot of happiness to my soul to be able to ride so much!

Since it’s fall, I’m back racing cross and loving every minute of it. I started things off with the wheelers and dealers race at Cross Vegas. It was awesome helping to warm the track up for the big pro season opener. After an 8th row start, I was able to avoid a litany of crashes and after 1 lap, I had worked my way into the top 15. I buried myself to get up there from somewhere in the 80’s, so I was cooked. When the front group started to attack each other, I wasn’t in a good place. I could have or should have finished in the top 5 or top 10, but settled for 15th. Not bad out of 200 + starters. I was happy to do that on a single speed! Single speeds stole the show, Craig Etheridge – Raleigh won on a single speed and my team Gates Carbon Drive placed 5 single speed racers in the top 15. Not bad!

A few Gates Carbon Drive team highlights from Cross Vegas:

  

As a matter of fact, my carbon Raleigh with the new Gates Center track Carbon Drive is amazing. It’s light, stiff and the new Center track works so well! I can run lower belt tension and I have no issues whatsoever! No skipping, no noise, no lubrication needed and it looks damn cool too! I’ve been running it on my mountain bike with equally great success. Gates has done an amazing job progressing the belt drive technology. It’s been a pleasure to be a part of the development and really cool to see the progress!

Other than that, I’ve been finding my legs at the local Colorado Cross Cups. Right now, I’m sitting 4th overall, which is awesome. Looking for a win soon, but more than anything, I’m just so happy and thankful to be out there after last seasons crash that nearly ended my life on the bike. Actually, on my first lap racing at Cross Vegas I thought to myself, “holy shit, I’m racing cross again”. I was just flooded with positive emotion and gratitude. It’s great to be back on the dirt!!!

A few highlights from the Cross season here in Colorado:

 

No Responses Yet to “Cyclocross is in full swing!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

