Interbike Post – better late than never right?

27Oct11

Even though Interbike was nearly a few months ago, I thought I’d share some of my favorites from the show. It’s dizzying spectacle of the newest products and this year was no different. While there wasn’t much I didn’t expect to see, I still enjoyed myself when I wasn’t racing Cross Vegas or working the Primal booth.

First off, we got the gang back together for the fall to race cross. The second year of the Gates Carbon Drive cyclocross team started at Cross Vegas! We had 4 guys in the top 15 and fellow Gates Carbon Drive rider and Raleigh friend Craig Etheridge won the race! 5 single speeders in the top 15 at the Wheelers and Dealers race was pretty awesome. Still coming off road season, I came in 15th. Not a bad start!

Inside the show, one of my first finds, was this murdered out city bike with Gates Carbon Drive Centertrack by BMC.

Rumor is, Cadel is rolling around on one of these in his hometown on a yellow belt!

Speaking of Cadel, here is his Tour de France winners bike. These impec’s are AMAZING.

Moots completed what seems to be a redesign of most of their lineup. Their commitment to the material is amazing, but they are show more and more that Ti is not only still competitive and relevant. Plus, they are rad people.

 

Check this out, the newly crowned mountain bike world champion, Jaroslav Kulhavy’s bike, complete with mud from the race. Note the crazy position and prototype new age grip shifters. The bike was insanely light. I’d love to be have the same setup…

Speaking of Specialized. They had several bikes on hand from the fastest athletes in the world. Check out Mark Cavendish’s green jersey winner along with Contador’s Giro winner:

Cliff bar had these great posters at their booth. I was able to snag the Thor version, which is now proudly framed in my bike room:

 

Speaking of design … I’m not sure how well these ride, but the italians from Cinelli have the design of their bikes and booth dialed.  These are soooo Sick especially the ‘3D’ version below:

The final note on design is black on black. This awesome treatment (seen earlier on the BMC above) has hit saturation in record time in the industry. I like to call it the “murdered out” look. It’s dope for sure, but just like the explosion of white from a few years back, if everyone’s doing it … is it still cool? Time will tell, but today, I wish my bikes were all black on black. It’s an interesting trend in context of the neon explosion we’re also seeing in helmets, glasses and shoes in cycling.

No Responses Yet to “Interbike Post – better late than never right?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

