Primalpalooza!

03Oct12

This past weekend, in addition to helping put on my road team, Primal-1st Bank’s fall Cyclocross race, I also had the pleasure of racing in the event. It was a great course with lots of very technical sections along with some very difficult long stretches. The event went awesome! We had arguably the best cross racer in the world, Katie Compton show up along with a bunch of other local pros. We ended with over 500 competitors, which is amazing for it being the second year of the event!

10 x National Champion and Multiple time World Cup winner Katie Compton winning:

My fellow board member Michael Welker did an amazing job with the event. In addition to adding another great race to the calendar, we presented over $1000 to Trips for Kids and made some good money for the club. Our sponsors McDonald Audi were on hand with some amazing new cars, along with Bike Source, Symmetry massage, 1st Bank, Bicycle Colorado and many more in our expo area.

  

With over $4000 in prize money and race preems, nearly all of the days races started off very fast. The top 3 riders riders across the line on the first lap of every race earned cash. The first lap was ridiculously fast. I came through in the top 4 giving up my 3rd spot before the start/finish. I could tell I was going way too deep into the red way too early in the race. After a rough last two weeks of training, I needed to keep be cautious how many bullets I fired off. In the next few laps, I lost another two spots as I had indeed gone into the red physically on that first lap. Once I somewhat recovered I was making up time on 4th and 5th, but never caught them and ended in 6th. While I wish I would have been racing for the win, it was still a strong result for a rough few weeks of stress and bad training. With things calming down a bit, I’m back on track with some regular training and rest and looking forward to racing to win very soon here!

Following one of the fastest single speed racers in Colorado this year, Dan Porter:

Duking it out to hold onto my 6th place. I had to fight hard to keep my spot!:

Many of my Gates Carbon Drive teammates are racing the highly competitive 35+ class this year.
Pretty amazing watching them crack the top 5 and top 10 on belt driven single speeds!

No Responses Yet to “Primalpalooza!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

