Schoolyard CX

09Nov12

Despite a rough weekend for the Boulder Cup, I took an extra day off, hit the intervals and got back on track. Whatever virus I might have had was gone and my asthma was back in check. It was nice to train hard and feel good, so going into this race, I was feeling confident, good and ready for battle.

The course was a little slick in sections, very dry in others and had great traction. There were some awesome runup sections, two of which I was able to ride when others weren’t, so I gained valuable seconds each lap. That said, a new callup policy for the start put me at the back since I hadn’t pre registered, so I had to fight hard to get to the front and by the time I did, I needed to recover a bit. After a lap of sitting in, I hit the gas to try and crack the top 3. I felt like I got close, but my teammate Ryan McFarlin was riding super strong, so I never caught him.

In the end, I finished 4th (so I thought) in a pretty strong field. Turns out there was a guy in front of me I had mistaken for a Cat 3 rider who was in our field. He had gears and cogs on his bike, so I didn’t think he was a single speed racer, but the official tolk me he had his gears locked out, so I was actually 5th. Kind of a bummer since I could have closed him down easily had I known. Still a good result though and I was more happy that I was feeling back to myself again!

Jumping back on my bike after a long run up:

At the end of all that, I’m not sitting 2nd overall behind former Olympian Colby Pearce on the Colorado Cross Cup, which makes me pretty happy!

No Responses Yet to “Schoolyard CX”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

